Genre

Fantasy, Science Fiction, Young Adult

Audience

12-18

Author’s Worldview

Catholic

Year Published

2018

Themes

Friendship, human nature, animal nature, choice, discipline, self-control, genetic engineering, clones, genetic manipulation 

 

Reviewed by

M.S. Ocampo

In this unique pastoral fantasy, Mandy Lamb is a human-sheep hybrid who happens to be friends with a vampire and a werewolf. The themes of nature versus nurture are at play here as Mandy tries to fit in at school. For example, Mandy has a habit of eating flowers and gets in trouble for eating the principal’s garden. The theme of nature versus nurture also applies to Mandy’s closest friends: a vampire named Vincent and a werewolf named James.  

The overall story feels very “slice of life with fantasy creatures.” Mandy goes to a school with regular people—activities such as watching TV are mentioned. All the characters feel like they’re people you’d recognize from real life, people that you’d want to hang out with. Even though the characters are unusual, the setting feels quite grounded. James’s struggle with his predator instincts adds an authentic layer to his brooding personality, and Vincent is quite a friendly neighborhood vampire, who has a snarky sense of humor that is always fun to read. 

I really appreciate the dynamic that Mandy has with her friends. There’s no forced love triangle like other urban fantasy novels. Instead, the three of them are very supportive of each other, at least after James and Vincent get past their differences. The vampires versus werewolves trope is played with for an initial conflict, but Vincent’s motivation to protect Mandy is very understandable. The main conflict centers on Mandy being a supportive friend to James as he tries to control his inner demons, especially whenever there’s a full moon. 

I recommend this book for middle grade to younger YA readers as it’s very similar to more grounded modern fantasy/magical realism works such as Sandhya Menon’s Of Princes and Promises. The Catholic themes are pretty minor. Fr. Llewellyn is a very friendly supporting character, who discusses with Mandy about how God loves her in spite of the DNA meddling, and encourages James to become an altar server. Fr. Llewellyn reminds me of the friendly friars from Shakespeare’s plays. DNA meddling may be seen as wrong in this book, but it doesn’t invalidate Mandy, James, or Vincent’s existences.  

Get Catholic Books & eBooks for as little as $1 to FREE

Shadowmancer by G.P. Taylor

A dark fantasy along the lines of Revelation itself.

The Grace Crasher by Mara Faro

The Grace Crasher is the ecumenical romantic dramedy that everyone who has ever had family members in split churches needs to read.

Ironcraft by Pedro Gabriel

Giants war in this Genesis-style mythological fantasy.

Lord of the Rings & the Eucharist by Scott L. Smith

What do trees have to do with Bread & Wine?

City of Shadows by Declan Finn

St. Tommy uncovers a group of elites using an ancient artifact to destroy London.

A World Such As Heaven Intended

Amara didn’t intend to fall in love with a Union soldier. Is love even possible in her war-torn world?

Through the Ashes by Jacqueline Brown

Fans of The 100 and Runaway’s and The Gifted will find this YA story riveting.

Everything Old: Love in Anadauk Book 1 by Amanda Hamm

Two youth group leaders rekindle their friendship and find love with each other along the way.

Jennifer the Damned By Karen Ullo

A story of a teenage vampire without the glamorous tempting allure, trying to really live in the real world.

The King’s Prey by Susan Peek

When the king of Ireland goes insane, Princess Dymphna must embark on a harrowing journey to freedom.

Someday by Corinna Turner

Ordinary schoolgirls face a terrible fate: abuse, forced marriages, and even death at the hands of Islamic extremists.

Dex’s Way by Karina Fabian

Surviving the Black Hole was only the first part, now Dex will have to survive the far future and reunite with Santiago.

Will Wilder and the Relic of Perilous Falls

Follow Will Wilder as he discovers a hidden world, fights demons and rescues a hidden treasure!

Coven (Book 7 of St. Tommy Series): By Declan Finn

St. Tommy fights the CPS and a group of pagans who have taken over a military base.

The Branded Ones by Colleen Drippe

Fr. Ruiz has little idea what he’s getting into when he takes a post on the isolated and pagan planet of Fen.

Finnian and the Seven Mountains (Vol.2) By, Philip Kosloski and Michael Lavoy

Can one map be the key to stopping the Viking Invasion?

Defend the Tabernacle by Deacon Patrick Augustin Jones

Catherine and Bernard get whisked away to do battle on the Soulscape, where the true nature of things is revealed.

Sydney and Calvin Have a Baby by Adrienne Thorn

Sydney writes romances but living her own romance will require more courage than anything yet required of her.

Saint Magnus: The Last Viking by Susan Peek

A young Viking Prince evades a warlord while finding his own harrowing path to sainthood.

Where to begin with J. R. R. Tolkien?

Beyond the adventure, the way to read The Lord of the Rings is not as an allegory but as a meditation on the human Story we are each caught up in, and in which we each have our part to play, our temptations to resist, and our task to accomplish.