Do Carpenters Dream of Wooden Sheep? by Corinna Turner

by | Apr 22, 2022 | Science Fiction

Genre

Science Fiction

Audience

Teens

Author’s Worldview

Catholic

Year Published

2021

Themes

Friendship, family, brothers, cancer, lives of the saints

Reviewed by

Tiffany Buck

Caring for someone with cancer is rough― which Razim knows firsthand. He’s staying overnight to care for his friend, Daniel, who’s sick with leukemia. This particular night was difficult. Hoping for a little normalcy, the two try to watch Blade Runner, but Daniel vomits through most of it. Soon after the movie, Daniel falls asleep. Razim has left his phone at home so he picks up a book entitled The Tale of Joseph and Mary.

Razim falls asleep reading the book and dreams of the story of Mary and Joseph. Only Razim is not in Israel, he’s in futuristic Merillia. He’s not Razim either, he’s Cleopas, the younger brother of Jo who is betrothed to young Miryam. From here, we are taken on an imaginative re-telling of the Holy Family told through the eyes of Cleo. Cleo isn’t just Jo’s younger brother, he’s all of us wrestling with a story about a family formed by God to change the world. It is a familiar story that is both simple and yet beyond most of our comprehension. This book written for teens takes us from the betrothal to the happy death of St. Joseph, all while in the futuristic city of Merillia. Imagine Mary on a hover bike instead of a donkey.

I was truly impressed by the depth of St. Joseph’s story in this novel. He is fully imagined with all the trust, courage, devotion and love you expect him to possess.  Full disclosure: the nativity story is probably one of my favorite stories in the Bible. There is so much going on and so much at stake. The nativity has everything a good story needs, but it gets glossed over too often. “Do Carpenters Dream of Wooden Sheep?” didn’t gloss over anything, but expanded upon it. The imagery was vivid and made me look at this story with fresh eyes.

In the back of the book, Ms. Turner invites you to explore St Joseph even further with prayers, discussion questions, and a complete scriptural account of the story. I really enjoyed the going deeper section of the book which explains what the Church teaches about Jesus and Mary.  The prayers included are the year of St. Joseph prayer, the novena to St. Joseph, and the consecration to St. Joseph.

With a little over 100 pages, this is the perfect read for teens or any sci-fi fan that wants a quick read. After reading the first two chapters, I bought a hard copy for myself knowing that in a few years I would like to read this with my daughter. The title, “Do Carpenters Dream of Wooden Sheep?” pays homage to the Philip K. Dick story, “Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?” the inspiration for Blade Runner. I would encourage all teens to read this. It’s fun, fast-paced, and allows you to explore the Holy Family as if they were regular people.

Get Catholic Books & eBooks for as little as $1 to FREE

Freedom & Responsibility in “Citizen of the Galaxy” by Robert Heinlein

One of the masters of science fiction delivers a story exploring the limits of freedom and the ongoing battle against fallen human nature.

House of War by Carlos Carrasco

With the government on the verge of outlawing Christianity, a group of Catholics launch a new Crusade.

Through the Ashes by Jacqueline Brown

Fans of The 100 and Runaway’s and The Gifted will find this YA story riveting.

Books for Lent

Deepen your Lenten reflection with these stories of repentance and forgiveness

From the Shadows by Jacqueline Brown

In a broken world, Bria tries to unite a family even as she struggles to keep hope alive.

Nowhither by John C. Wright

Ilya Muromets fights off a dozens of tempting sirens and finally grows into the man he needs to be to defeat the Dark Tower.

I am Margaret by Corinna Turner

A dystopian nightmare that asks what you really believe and how far will you go to defend it.

Treelight by Colleen Drippe

When the planet of Treelight’s contract changes hands the Star Brothers send an agent to discover the corporation’s plans for the sleepy little space colony.

Mandy Lamb and the Full Moon By Corinna Turner 

A human-sheep hybrid’s friendships with a friendly vampire and a very angsty house-wolf are tested in this story that explores nature versus nurture. 

Soul Cycle books I – IV: by Brian Niemeier

In a evil universe a band of space pirates begin a journey of revenge that instead takes them in search of the true, the good and the beautiful.

Unclaimed, Nameless, & Vanished by Erin McCole Cupp

Jane Eyre re-imaginged in a world where cloning, and genetic manipulation have returned us to a class system.

Somewhither by John C. Wright An Unwhithering Realm

What if the Multi-verse were not a theory to disprove God? What if he created it, and all humanity must unite to fight the powers of Babel?

Feel-Good Books For Pandemic Summer

Book Therapy to chase the blues away

The Pre Persons by Phillip K. Dick

The pro-life Phillip K. Dick story so prophetic it was buried.

The Joining by J. H. Dierking

The aliens will surprise you and lead you into greater insight into how our own bodily design determines much of what is considered right and wrong.

Why Reading Fiction Made Me a Better Catholic

How reading fiction became a crucial step in my conversion to the Catholic Church.

Best of 2020

Yes some good things DID happen this year- Catholic creators have not let turmoil stop their mission.

August & September New Book Releases

Step into Fall with a Good Book

The Vines of Mars by A.R.K. Watson

While tracking down his sister’s murderer, a Martian farmer discovers a secret that may destroy his colony.

Nephilim Corruption by Ann Margaret Lewis

Jedi Adventure meets Christian Epic