Genre

Historical Fiction/ Romance / Young Adult

Audience

Highschool & Up

Author’s Worldview

Catholic

Year Published

2017

Themes

War, family, romance, friendship, WWI, true love, nurses, hospital workers, Divine Providence

 

Reviewed by

M.S. Ocampo

Julia Murphy, originally from Philadelphia, is a young woman who volunteers to help take care of injured soldiers in France. In December of 1918, she purchases a silver pocket watch and has it engraved for her “beloved,” even though she has no idea who her beloved is. She has high expectations of what she wants her husband to be and expects to fall in love at first sight with her soul mate.

Initially, Julia finds the idea of volunteering as a medical aide in the army barracks exciting, pondering the romantic idea of taking care of soldiers in need and possibly falling in love with one of them. A sheltered young woman, the reality of ward hits Julia hard. As soon as she gets to the field hospital, she has to treat hundreds of injured soldiers right away.

Major Peter Winslow is an intelligence officer of the 38th Battalion of the Canadian Expeditionary Forces. He joined up as part of an allied group between the Canadians, Australians, and British. Most of his work entails translating French and German messages and relaying that information to Allied forces. He also has the grim job of interrogating prisoners of war. Winslow deeply misses his family, especially his brother, John, who was killed in the line of duty. He starts out the novel questioning why God did not answer his prayers for his brother’s safety. By the end of the book, he learns about his brother’s heroic sacrifice and sees God’s providential hand, using Julia’s love to protect him in dire circumstances.

When Julia and Peter meet for the first time, it’s anything but love at first sight. When Major Winslow finds Julia tending to an enemy soldier, he treats her harshly. Their relationship starts to change when Peter gets two pairs of socks that Julia knitted, the socks she intended for her beloved. Although she is very irritated that Peter got her socks instead of a soldier she assumed would be more in need of them, he compliments her on her knitting skills. Major Winslow starts falling in love with Julia, but it takes her a lot longer for her to return his feelings.

The camaraderie Julia has with her fellow volunteer nurses Charlotte and Ann is more told than shown, but they all genuinely care for Julia. Ann and Charlotte take care of Julia while she’s sick with influenza.

War stories are often written with a very sanitized tone, especially when there’s a love story, but Julia’s Gifts doesn’t hold back on how harsh, chaotic, and traumatizing wartime actually is. There’s mention of lice, people affected by mustard gas, various injuries, and influenza. This contrast is best shown when Julia gets a letter from her family, which mentions how her younger brothers were more than eager to enlist as soon as they got old enough, and Julia laments how little they really know.

I recommend this book for fans of wartime stories, especially World War I. The romance is appealing for those who like slow-burn relationships and hate-to-love stories. The author’s Catholic faith is shown as part of Julia’s own faith and Divine providence is a major theme as Major Winslow navigates through the chaotic war.

 

Join Here for FREE to Never Miss a Deal

Find new favorites & Support Catholic Authors

Through the Ashes by Jacqueline Brown

Fans of The 100 and Runaway’s and The Gifted will find this YA story riveting.

Silence by Shusaku Endo

The story that introduced faith to one of the most secular nations on Earth

Shooting At Heaven’s Gate, by Kaye Park Hinckley

How does an ordinary boy become a mass murderer?

Books to Pray With, March: For the New Martyrs

Every month in 2024 Pope Francis has a monthly prayer intention. Every month we will release a book list that will draw your heart and soul deeper into prayer on these topics.

Bonvida’s Awakening, by C.D. Smith

Can Atticus live up to the legacy of his birthright? An adventure fantasy novel for teens about good and evil, friendship, and identity.

God’s Sparrows By Kathleen Vincenz

Rose didn’t expect to babysit six children, but God had other plans.

The Wind That Shakes The Corn: Memoirs of a Scots Irish Woman by Kaye Park Hinckley

Sold into slavery on her wedding night, an 18th-century Irishwoman struggles to free herself from her thirst for vengeance.

The Reluctant Queen: The Story of Esther by Lin Wilder

Chosen by Xerxes to be queen, chosen by God to be savior of His people: the story of Esther.

Please Don’t Feed the Dinosaurs by Corinna Turner

A series of dino adventures that has been doing better what the mainstream Jurassic Park series only recently attempted.

See No Evil; A Father Gabriel Mystery by Fiorella De Maria

In Post-WWII England, nearly everyone has something to hide—even kill for. Father Gabriel starts uncovering the truth, bringing souls the chance for redemption.

The Fire of Eden (The Harwood Mysteries Book 3) by Antony Barone Kolenc

The mystery of a stolen treasure might hold the key to Xan’s discernment about whether God is calling him to the priesthood or to Lucy.

Medal Knight Vol 1 by Voyage Comics

A young inventor in the 1920’s finds out his patrons intend to use his robots for crime. To fight back he becomes a hero inspired by the miraculous medal.

Feel-Good Books For Pandemic Summer

Book Therapy to chase the blues away

The Other Side of Freedom by Cynthia Toney

A Catholic “To Kill a Mockingbird” if there ever was one.

Outlaws of Ravenhurst, by Sr. M. Imelda Wallace, S.L.

The 10-year-old heir of a noble Scottish family must choose between his inheritance and his Catholic faith.

The Book of Jotham by Arthur Powers

Experience Christ through the eyes of Jotham, his disabled disciple.

A Very Jurassic Christmas by Corinna Turner

Christmas with Jurassic dinosaurs is often wild!

I am Margaret by Corinna Turner

A dystopian nightmare that asks what you really believe and how far will you go to defend it.

Nun of My Business by Karina Fabian

When a nun hires Vern to prove that a new pop song is evil, the dragon suspects his new client might be hiding something.