The Academy Saga: Book 1 By C.J. Daly  

by | Jun 11, 2021 | Romance, Young Adult

Genre

Young Adult / Romance

Audience

14 & Up

Author’s Worldview

Catholic

Year Published

2019

Themes

Family, Trust, Gifts, Talents, Trust, Intuition, Fear, Courage

 

Reviewed by

M.S. Ocampo

The Academy Saga is a suspenseful contemporary romance. In the small town of Clovis, New Mexico, Katie Connelley is just trying to get by. She balances going to school, taking care of her family farm, and waiting tables at a diner on the weekends. Her younger brother, Andrew is being scouted by the Elite International Academy (EIA). Cadet Pete Davenport has been assigned to mentor him. However, as charming as Cadet Davenport is, and as prestigious as the Academy seems to be, there’s something Katie feels suspicious about. The last thing that Katie wants is to let her younger brother be in the care of strangers. The problem is that she’s not sure if her intuition is right, or if she’s being paranoid like her mother, who passed away.

Cadet Pete Davenport is a very attractive frenemy who falls for Katie’s girl-next-door style. Although the novel is mostly in Katie’s point-of-view, there are some scenes from Pete’s perspective. There’s definitely some truth to Katie’s fears in regards to the EIA, but it’s not certain as to what the Academy’s purpose is. Their business is to recruit the best and brightest, kids with special abilities, and place them in positions of prominence (almost like a junior level CIA).

While this novel is a great suspenseful read, there are some issues that might make readers uncomfortable. Katie’s father is verbally abusive and frequently absent from the story. There are also instances of gaslighting, as Pete is actively making sure that Katie doesn’t interfere with the Academy’s agenda. One other minor nitpick is that I find it hard to believe that Katie, who refuses to say the Lord’s name in vain, would willingly listen to gangsta rap.

Overall, this novel does a great job of telling a suspenseful, thrilling story that’s hard to put down. On top of that, the romance between Katie and Pete is very believable, with a lot of chemistry and tension. I would recommend this novel to fans of James Patterson’s novels or One of Us Is Lying. It’s a great read for a general audience, as there aren’t any overt Catholic themes aside from Katie’s own faith and adherence to a modest lifestyle.

Subscribe

Subscribe to Catholic Reads to get access to Catholic Literature from 50% off to FREE

Island of Miracles by Amy Schisler

When she finds out her husband had a whole other set of wife and kids Kate starts over in a small beach town.

Someday by Corinna Turner

Ordinary schoolgirls face a terrible fate: abuse, forced marriages, and even death at the hands of Islamic extremists.

Saint Michael: Above the 38th Parallel by Shanti Guy

The true story of St. Michael, the original punch-communism-in-the-face superhero

Standing Strong by Theresa Linden

Keefe hides his call to the priesthood and no matter how much Jarrett tries he still gets into trouble. Can the brothers find their courage?

Beneath Wandering Stars by Ashlee Cowles

A young girl goes pilgrimage on the Camino de Santiago on behalf of her brother and finds her place in the world.

Warrior of Kizan by Ann Margaret Lewis

Jedi Adventure meets Christian Epic

Life Changing Love by Theresa Linden

What do when your heart gets broken and your best friend gets an unplanned pregnancy?

Shadow in the Dark by Antony Barone Kolenc

An immersive mystery and an amateur sleuth set in the walls of a 12th century English monastery

The Lion’s Heart by Dena Hunt

A deep, honest story of emotional struggle, temptation, and sacrifice.

If Wishes Were Dragons By Karina Fabian

What happens when LARPing becomes a lot more real than a group of D&D players can handle?

From the Shadows by Jacqueline Brown

In a broken world, Bria tries to unite a family even as she struggles to keep hope alive.

Unlikely Witnesses by Leslea Wahl

When four boys glimpse a crime in their Colorado town they end up in an interrogation cell of the FBI.

Comet Dust by C.D. Verhoff

A Catholic end-of days inspired by the private revelations of the saints.

Gifts Visible and Invisible

If you are looking for a cozy read to get into the Christmas cheer, this collection has it all.

The City and The Dungeon by Matthew P. Schmidt

Who knew fighting monsters in a D&D dungeon could convince him that not everything can be attributed to a chance roll of the dice?

Live and Let Bite Review by Declan Finn

The battle with the demons of San Francisco left Marco broken and now Amanda isn’t answering his messages.

Good to the Last Drop by Declan Finn

Marco thought his problems were over when he took on the vampire council, until he gets bit by a werewolf. Will this ruin things with his vampire girlfriend?

Through the Ashes by Jacqueline Brown

Fans of The 100 and Runaway’s and The Gifted will find this YA story riveting.

The Academy Saga: Book 1 By C.J. Daly  

A thrilling, yet clean, high school romance.

Outlaws of Ravenhurst, by Sr. M. Imelda Wallace, S.L.

The 10-year-old heir of a noble Scottish family must choose between his inheritance and his Catholic faith.