The Academy Saga: Book 1 By C.J. Daly  

by | Jun 11, 2021 | Romance, Young Adult

Genre

Young Adult / Romance

Audience

14 & Up

Author’s Worldview

Catholic

Year Published

2019

Themes

Family, Trust, Gifts, Talents, Trust, Intuition, Fear, Courage

 

Reviewed by

M.S. Ocampo

The Academy Saga is a suspenseful contemporary romance. In the small town of Clovis, New Mexico, Katie Connelley is just trying to get by. She balances going to school, taking care of her family farm, and waiting tables at a diner on the weekends. Her younger brother, Andrew is being scouted by the Elite International Academy (EIA). Cadet Pete Davenport has been assigned to mentor him. However, as charming as Cadet Davenport is, and as prestigious as the Academy seems to be, there’s something Katie feels suspicious about. The last thing that Katie wants is to let her younger brother be in the care of strangers. The problem is that she’s not sure if her intuition is right, or if she’s being paranoid like her mother, who passed away.

Cadet Pete Davenport is a very attractive frenemy who falls for Katie’s girl-next-door style. Although the novel is mostly in Katie’s point-of-view, there are some scenes from Pete’s perspective. There’s definitely some truth to Katie’s fears in regards to the EIA, but it’s not certain as to what the Academy’s purpose is. Their business is to recruit the best and brightest, kids with special abilities, and place them in positions of prominence (almost like a junior level CIA).

While this novel is a great suspenseful read, there are some issues that might make readers uncomfortable. Katie’s father is verbally abusive and frequently absent from the story. There are also instances of gaslighting, as Pete is actively making sure that Katie doesn’t interfere with the Academy’s agenda. One other minor nitpick is that I find it hard to believe that Katie, who refuses to say the Lord’s name in vain, would willingly listen to gangsta rap.

Overall, this novel does a great job of telling a suspenseful, thrilling story that’s hard to put down. On top of that, the romance between Katie and Pete is very believable, with a lot of chemistry and tension. I would recommend this novel to fans of James Patterson’s novels or One of Us Is Lying. It’s a great read for a general audience, as there aren’t any overt Catholic themes aside from Katie’s own faith and adherence to a modest lifestyle.

Subscribe

Subscribe to Catholic Reads to get access to Catholic Literature from 50% off to FREE

Secrets Visible and Invisible, An Anthology 

Tales of courage, compassion and virtue in compelling and naturally engaging Y.A. short stories.

Champion of Valdeor by Sandralena Hanley

Fed up with modern 1st person, present tense narratives bursting with ‘hip’ characters? Look no further!

I Hope You Find Joy By Eliza Mae Albano

Can Emma find joy with the man who hurt her?

McCracken and the Lost Oasis by Mark Adderley

A swashbuckling adventure into Catholic history and archeology.

Shadowmancer by G.P. Taylor

A dark fantasy along the lines of Revelation itself.

Ornamental Graces by Carolyn Astfalk

A great romantic drama about how authentic love can restore life to two people who have been hurt in the past.

2021 Summer Reading List for Preteens

Six series that are a must-have for your Preteen’s library ages 8-13

Unclaimed, Nameless, & Vanished by Erin McCole Cupp

Jane Eyre re-imaginged in a world where cloning, and genetic manipulation have returned us to a class system.

A Life Such As Heaven Intended by Amanda Lauer

A chance encounter with an amnesiac soldier leads Brigid to discover the realities of the Civil War.

City of Shadows by Declan Finn

St. Tommy uncovers a group of elites using an ancient artifact to destroy London.

How Sweet the Sound by Courtney Guest Kim

Annette makes all the wrong decisions for her love life—but through Grace finds true wisdom.

The Wish Thief by C.D. Verhoff

Glory steals an unusual gem to save her family but winds up threatening an entire world.

Beneath Wandering Stars by Ashlee Cowles

A young girl goes pilgrimage on the Camino de Santiago on behalf of her brother and finds her place in the world.

Julia’s Gifts by Ellen Gable

A story of love and God’s providence in times of war.

Through the Ashes by Jacqueline Brown

Fans of The 100 and Runaway’s and The Gifted will find this YA story riveting.

If Wishes Were Dragons By Karina Fabian

What happens when LARPing becomes a lot more real than a group of D&D players can handle?

The Wind That Shakes The Corn: Memoirs of a Scots Irish Woman by Kaye Park Hinckley

Sold into slavery on her wedding night, an 18th-century Irishwoman struggles to free herself from her thirst for vengeance.

Freeing Tanner Rose by T.M. Gaouette

Hollywood Starlet meets Kung Fu Country boy with a God obsession.

Boxers and Saints by Gene Luen Yang

This two part graphic novel tells its story from 2 sides China’s bloody civil war: A Boxer Rebel & a “traitor” Christian-Convert.

The Boy Who Knew (Friends in High Places: Carlo Acutis) by Corinna Turner

Faced with his death, a fifteen-year-old learns how to live through the wisdom of Blessed Carlo Acutis.