If Wishes Were Dragons By Karina Fabian

by | Nov 27, 2020 | Fantasy, Middle Grade Books, Mystery, Young Adult

Genre

Fantasy

Audience

Young Adult to Adult

Author’s Worldview

Catholic

Year Published

2020

Themes

DragonEye, DragonEye PI, DragonEye PI Series, friendship, grace, Medieval myths, Murder Most Picante, Original Sin, PI Mysteries, Private Investigator, Shakespeare, Urban Fantasy, Vern the dragon

Reviewed by

M.S. Ocampo

What happens when a dragon and his group of D&D enthusiast friends end up in an adventure that gives “Live Action Role Play” a whole new meaning? You have If Wishes Were Dragons.

When we meet our very un-amused dragon in this story, Vern is out of a job and longing for life in the Faerie realm. His friends, who are enjoying the local Renaissance Festival, are going down different paths in life and the group is going to break apart. All of a sudden, someone makes a wish on a magic lamp and *poof!* Vern is back to fighting Saint George…only it’s actually his friend, Father Rich, made into his paladin character.

As per usual in this series, Vern finds himself in the midst of a mystery, only this mystery is about where and when exactly everyone is. Are they in some kind of alternate dimension created from wishes and memories? Are they in the Faerie realm? And why are all the fey creatures suddenly scared of dragons, well, more scared than usual? Has something happened to Vern’s kin?

Vern and his friends search around for answers. One particular group that stands out in this story is the Summer Court of Fairies, ruled by Titania. And yes, A Midsummer Night’s Dream is heavily alluded to. In Fabian’s universe, the fay creatures were all created as morally good creatures in line with Christian theology but as each had their own personal fall from grace, the darker versions of their myths came to play. Queen Titiana and the fairies, for example, became less innocent and playful and more cruel tricksters after they played the “forbidden prank”. Dwarves became too greedy and obsessed with living underground. This does not mean that the fey creatures are all twisted and evil. Like fallen humans, they are capable of both great good and great evil. It is interesting to see how Fabian incorporates mythical creatures and magical dimensions into the Christian narrative. The effect feels much like a medieval Christian tapestry.

Fans of tabletop R.P.G. games will love the various places Vern and his friends go to: kingdoms, a labyrinth of tunnels, a thunder of dragons, and spider caves. I love that this book expands on the Faerie realm and introduces Vern’s very extended family. Vern’s time in the Mundane has changed him in ways some of his fellow dragons aren’t keen on and their differences on the role dragons play in both realms open up all sorts of possibilities for future stories.

I recommend this book for fans of The Dresden Files or The Enchanted Forest series as this book combines a very snarky protagonist with a very lighthearted, adventurous story. The exploration of the concept of Original Sin, and the spiritual power of saints, the Pope and the sacraments makes this story especially appropriate to Catholic readers.

Get Catholic Books & eBooks for as little as $1 to FREE

Honor at Stake by Declan Finn

If you’re looking for a vampire-romance with a truly unique twist look no further.

Playing by Heart by Carmela Martino

In this historical drama, Emilia longs for a love as beautiful as her sonata, but the ambitions of her father put her and her sister in great danger.

Shadow of the Bear by Regina Doman

An intriguing story that will enchant with a sweet romance and take you on a thrill ride through the Gothic version of modern-day New York City.

August & September New Book Releases

Step into Fall with a Good Book

Hell Spawn by Declan Finn

What does it look like when an every-man saint battles a demon?

Shadowmancer by G.P. Taylor

A dark fantasy along the lines of Revelation itself.

Freeing Tanner Rose by T.M. Gaouette

Hollywood Starlet meets Kung Fu Country boy with a God obsession.

Cinder Allia by Karen Ullo

A political fantasy epic bildungsroman where Allia’s feminine heart becomes as powerful a force has her sword.

Broken and Blessed: An Invitation to My Generation By Fr. Josh Johnson

Fr. Josh addresses some of the common misconceptions people have about God and what getting to actually know him actually means.

A World Such As Heaven Intended

Amara didn’t intend to fall in love with a Union soldier. Is love even possible in her war-torn world?

Earthquake Weather by Kevin Rush

The mist that settles over San Francisco hides the ugly parts of her world. Can Kristine find the courage to see with unclouded eyes?

Roland West Loner by Theresa Linden

When his evil brothers lock Roland up in a dungeon he finds a locked box hiding a mysterious treasure.

I am Margaret by Corinna Turner

A dystopian nightmare that asks what you really believe and how far will you go to defend it.

The Poppy and The Rose by Ashlee Cowles

While abroad in England, Taylor discovers a mystery linking her to an heiress and passenger aboard The Titanic.

The Boy Who Knew (Friends in High Places: Carlo Acutis) by Corinna Turner

Faced with his death, a fifteen-year-old learns how to live through the wisdom of Blessed Carlo Acutis.

Somewhither by John C. Wright An Unwhithering Realm

What if the Multi-verse were not a theory to disprove God? What if he created it, and all humanity must unite to fight the powers of Babel?

A Life Such As Heaven Intended by Amanda Lauer

A chance encounter with an amnesiac soldier leads Brigid to discover the realities of the Civil War.

McCracken and the Lost Oasis by Mark Adderley

A swashbuckling adventure into Catholic history and archeology.

The Haunted Cathedral by Antony Barone Kolenc                           

Xan is finally bringing his parent’s killer to justice, yet his guardian monk insists he must forgive the murderer

The Wish Thief by C.D. Verhoff

Glory steals an unusual gem to save her family but winds up threatening an entire world.