Genre

Fantasy

Audience

Young Adult to Adult

Author’s Worldview

Catholic

Year Published

2020

Themes

DragonEye, DragonEye PI, DragonEye PI Series, friendship, grace, Medieval myths, Murder Most Picante, Original Sin, PI Mysteries, Private Investigator, Shakespeare, Urban Fantasy, Vern the dragon

Reviewed by

M.S. Ocampo

What happens when a dragon and his group of D&D enthusiast friends end up in an adventure that gives “Live Action Role Play” a whole new meaning? You have If Wishes Were Dragons.

When we meet our very un-amused dragon in this story, Vern is out of a job and longing for life in the Faerie realm. His friends, who are enjoying the local Renaissance Festival, are going down different paths in life and the group is going to break apart. All of a sudden, someone makes a wish on a magic lamp and *poof!* Vern is back to fighting Saint George…only it’s actually his friend, Father Rich, made into his paladin character.

As per usual in this series, Vern finds himself in the midst of a mystery, only this mystery is about where and when exactly everyone is. Are they in some kind of alternate dimension created from wishes and memories? Are they in the Faerie realm? And why are all the fey creatures suddenly scared of dragons, well, more scared than usual? Has something happened to Vern’s kin?

Vern and his friends search around for answers. One particular group that stands out in this story is the Summer Court of Fairies, ruled by Titania. And yes, A Midsummer Night’s Dream is heavily alluded to. In Fabian’s universe, the fay creatures were all created as morally good creatures in line with Christian theology but as each had their own personal fall from grace, the darker versions of their myths came to play. Queen Titiana and the fairies, for example, became less innocent and playful and more cruel tricksters after they played the “forbidden prank”. Dwarves became too greedy and obsessed with living underground. This does not mean that the fey creatures are all twisted and evil. Like fallen humans, they are capable of both great good and great evil. It is interesting to see how Fabian incorporates mythical creatures and magical dimensions into the Christian narrative. The effect feels much like a medieval Christian tapestry.

Fans of tabletop R.P.G. games will love the various places Vern and his friends go to: kingdoms, a labyrinth of tunnels, a thunder of dragons, and spider caves. I love that this book expands on the Faerie realm and introduces Vern’s very extended family. Vern’s time in the Mundane has changed him in ways some of his fellow dragons aren’t keen on and their differences on the role dragons play in both realms open up all sorts of possibilities for future stories.

I recommend this book for fans of The Dresden Files or The Enchanted Forest series as this book combines a very snarky protagonist with a very lighthearted, adventurous story. The exploration of the concept of Original Sin, and the spiritual power of saints, the Pope and the sacraments makes this story especially appropriate to Catholic readers.

Get Catholic Books & eBooks for as little as $1 to FREE

Unlikely Witnesses by Leslea Wahl

When four boys glimpse a crime in their Colorado town they end up in an interrogation cell of the FBI.

Vigil by Russell Newquist

“Big Trouble in Little China” meets Saint George and the Dragon

Nephilim Corruption by Ann Margaret Lewis

Jedi Adventure meets Christian Epic

Comet Dust by C.D. Verhoff

A Catholic end-of days inspired by the private revelations of the saints.

Saving Mt. Rushmore by Andrea Jo Rodgers

John’s summer plans are ruined when he is recruited to a top-secret crime-fighting school, St. Michael’s Academy.

City of Shadows by Declan Finn

St. Tommy uncovers a group of elites using an ancient artifact to destroy London.

Dying for Compassion by Barbara Golder

This is the feisty lady-doc origin story I have been waiting for. Golder proves herself to be an excellent character writer in the mystery genre.

Elfling by Corinna Turner

Serapia Ravena is on a mission to find and keep her father, but he has transgressed a boundary that no creature has the right to cross. Only the mercy of God can resolve this tension.

The Boy Who Knew (Friends in High Places: Carlo Acutis) by Corinna Turner

Faced with his death, a fifteen-year-old learns how to live through the wisdom of Blessed Carlo Acutis.

The Bishop of 12th Avenue by Ray Lucit

A street kid gets ordained a Bishop in a post apocalyptic world. Talk about a shakeup in the priesthood.

A Printer’s Choice by W.L. Patenaude

The first nation in space has sworn off religion, but now they need the help of Fr. McCellan to solve a murder and save them from religious terrorists.

Brother Wolf by Eleanor Bourg Nicholson

Swept into a werewolf hunt with two nuns, a dashing guardian and a jolly priest, Athene Howard applies her intellectual skills to unravel this mysterious new Papist world.

Night Prayer by Brother Bernard Seif, SMC, Ed.D., DNM

The Motto Suaviter Sed Fortiter (Gentle But Strong) informs this historical mystery novel about the founding of the Salesian spiritual family and its various branches.

Standing Strong by Theresa Linden

Keefe hides his call to the priesthood and no matter how much Jarrett tries he still gets into trouble. Can the brothers find their courage?

Good to the Last Drop by Declan Finn

Marco thought his problems were over when he took on the vampire council, until he gets bit by a werewolf. Will this ruin things with his vampire girlfriend?

The Tale of Patrick Peyton

How a humble, Irish immigrant brought Mary to Hollywood and then the World.

Beneath Wandering Stars by Ashlee Cowles

A young girl goes pilgrimage on the Camino de Santiago on behalf of her brother and finds her place in the world.

A Very Jurassic Christmas by Corinna Turner

Christmas with Jurassic dinosaurs is often wild!

Playing by Heart by Carmela Martino

In this historical drama, Emilia longs for a love as beautiful as her sonata, but the ambitions of her father put her and her sister in great danger.

From the Shadows by Jacqueline Brown

In a broken world, Bria tries to unite a family even as she struggles to keep hope alive.