Genre

Fantasy

Audience

Young Adult to Adult

Author’s Worldview

Catholic

Year Published

2020

Themes

DragonEye, DragonEye PI, DragonEye PI Series, friendship, grace, Medieval myths, Murder Most Picante, Original Sin, PI Mysteries, Private Investigator, Shakespeare, Urban Fantasy, Vern the dragon

Reviewed by

M.S. Ocampo

What happens when a dragon and his group of D&D enthusiast friends end up in an adventure that gives “Live Action Role Play” a whole new meaning? You have If Wishes Were Dragons.

When we meet our very un-amused dragon in this story, Vern is out of a job and longing for life in the Faerie realm. His friends, who are enjoying the local Renaissance Festival, are going down different paths in life and the group is going to break apart. All of a sudden, someone makes a wish on a magic lamp and *poof!* Vern is back to fighting Saint George…only it’s actually his friend, Father Rich, made into his paladin character.

As per usual in this series, Vern finds himself in the midst of a mystery, only this mystery is about where and when exactly everyone is. Are they in some kind of alternate dimension created from wishes and memories? Are they in the Faerie realm? And why are all the fey creatures suddenly scared of dragons, well, more scared than usual? Has something happened to Vern’s kin?

Vern and his friends search around for answers. One particular group that stands out in this story is the Summer Court of Fairies, ruled by Titania. And yes, A Midsummer Night’s Dream is heavily alluded to. In Fabian’s universe, the fay creatures were all created as morally good creatures in line with Christian theology but as each had their own personal fall from grace, the darker versions of their myths came to play. Queen Titiana and the fairies, for example, became less innocent and playful and more cruel tricksters after they played the “forbidden prank”. Dwarves became too greedy and obsessed with living underground. This does not mean that the fey creatures are all twisted and evil. Like fallen humans, they are capable of both great good and great evil. It is interesting to see how Fabian incorporates mythical creatures and magical dimensions into the Christian narrative. The effect feels much like a medieval Christian tapestry.

Fans of tabletop R.P.G. games will love the various places Vern and his friends go to: kingdoms, a labyrinth of tunnels, a thunder of dragons, and spider caves. I love that this book expands on the Faerie realm and introduces Vern’s very extended family. Vern’s time in the Mundane has changed him in ways some of his fellow dragons aren’t keen on and their differences on the role dragons play in both realms open up all sorts of possibilities for future stories.

I recommend this book for fans of The Dresden Files or The Enchanted Forest series as this book combines a very snarky protagonist with a very lighthearted, adventurous story. The exploration of the concept of Original Sin, and the spiritual power of saints, the Pope and the sacraments makes this story especially appropriate to Catholic readers.

Get Catholic Books & eBooks for as little as $1 to FREE

The Academy Saga: Book 1 By C.J. Daly  

A thrilling, yet clean, high school romance.

Saving Mt. Rushmore by Andrea Jo Rodgers

John’s summer plans are ruined when he is recruited to a top-secret crime-fighting school, St. Michael’s Academy.

Legion by William Peter Blatty

When a boy is crucified, Detective Kinderman finds himself chasing down a murderer who is already dead.

Crusader St. Tommy NYPD Book 5 By: Declan Finn

Detective Nolan embarks on a Crusade against demonic sex traffickers trying to raise a demon.

The Tale of Patrick Peyton

How a humble, Irish immigrant brought Mary to Hollywood and then the World.

The Phantom Phoenix

A humble phoenix rises from the ashes to clean up corrupt, 1920s Chicago in this thrilling superhero comic

Elfling by Corinna Turner

Serapia Ravena is on a mission to find and keep her father, but he has transgressed a boundary that no creature has the right to cross. Only the mercy of God can resolve this tension.

Through the Ashes by Jacqueline Brown

Fans of The 100 and Runaway’s and The Gifted will find this YA story riveting.

Shadowmancer by G.P. Taylor

A dark fantasy along the lines of Revelation itself.

Snares of the Nether World, by Mary C. Jones

A child and her guardian angel are sent out to rescue a man in danger.

Good to the Last Drop by Declan Finn

Marco thought his problems were over when he took on the vampire council, until he gets bit by a werewolf. Will this ruin things with his vampire girlfriend?

The City and The Dungeon by Matthew P. Schmidt

Who knew fighting monsters in a D&D dungeon could convince him that not everything can be attributed to a chance roll of the dice?

The Fire of Eden (The Harwood Mysteries Book 3) by Antony Barone Kolenc

The mystery of a stolen treasure might hold the key to Xan’s discernment about whether God is calling him to the priesthood or to Lucy.

Life Changing Love by Theresa Linden

What do when your heart gets broken and your best friend gets an unplanned pregnancy?

The Grace Crasher by Mara Faro

The Grace Crasher is the ecumenical romantic dramedy that everyone who has ever had family members in split churches needs to read.

Beneath Wandering Stars by Ashlee Cowles

A young girl goes pilgrimage on the Camino de Santiago on behalf of her brother and finds her place in the world.

Murder Most Picante by Karina Fabian

The government can’t decide whether he is an illegal immigrant or invasive species. God expects a respectable dragon to find justice for others. This Dragon is not having a good time of it!

Shooting At Heaven’s Gate, by Kaye Park Hinckley

How does an ordinary boy become a mass murderer?

Tortured Soul by Theresa Linden

Looking for a book that puts Christ not just back into Christmas but into Halloween too? Throw in a dash of ghost story, mystery, and romance and you have A Tortured Soul.

Trapped in Time by Jerry J. Weis

Can a team of misfit teens save the day in this wholesome time-traveling romp?