Finnian and the Seven Mountains (Vol.2) By, Philip Kosloski and Michael Lavoy

by | Oct 7, 2022 | Graphic Novels, Historical Fiction, Middle Grade Books, Young Adult

Genre

Comic, Graphic Novel, Adventure, Historical Fiction

 

Audience

Ages 10 & Up

Author’s Worldview

Catholic

Year Published

2019

Themes

Catholic comic books, Protecting the innocent, Adventure, Quest, Shield-maiden, Irish monks, Sword, St Michael, Vikings,

 

Reviewed by

Tiffany Buck

In ninth century, Ireland and Britain, the most valuable possession is a map.

The second volume of Finnian and the Seven Mountains begins with a dream ¾a nightmare really. In the dream, Finnian sees his deceased parents and his village burning. The Vikings have come ashore, demanding an item the villagers don’t have. The price for the honesty of the villagers is death. Finnian awakens in a cold sweat determined to stop the Vikings from killing anyone else.

            Both coasts of Ireland and Britain are under constant threat of attacks from the Vikings. Finnian knows firsthand the damage caused by these vicious warriors. Finnian and his companion, Brendan are on a quest to find a mythical sword capable of defeating the Vikings and stopping the bloodshed. One problem: the Vikings want the sword too. Luckily, Finnian and Brendan have the map to the sword. The map leads the two men to the southern coast of Cornwall and the top of the deserted island of Karrek. Brendan tells Finnian that sailors try to avoid Karrek, but there are two ships beached there. Sadly, it looks like evidence of another raid with no survivors, until the men meet Merewyn. She too has tasted sorrow at the hands of the Vikings. Relieved that Finnian and Brendan are good men, she asks to join them in their search. Initially, they are reluctant, but she proves how valuable her skills are with a bow and arrow. Will the three reach the top of Karrek safely and find the mythical sword?

            At the end of Finnian and the Seven Mountains, (vol. 2), the authors share the sources of inspiration for this particular volume. The first is the island of Karrek, more commonly known as St. Michael’s Mount, off the coast of Cornwall. Legend has it, there’s a rock formation on the island, called St Michael’s chair, where the archangel sits and watches over England. The second influence is The Lord of the Rings trilogy. Maps play an important role in Middle-Earth, similar to the map in Finnian and the Seven Mountains. Character Merewyn may remind Middle-Earth fans of Eowyn, the Shield-Maiden of Rohan. And although this wasn’t mentioned by the writers, readers who are fans of the Vikings series will recognize the semi-mythical King Ragnar.

            Catholic and Protestant readers alike will appreciate the Christian values in this story. Finnian and Brendan are scared to go up the mountain in Karrek, but they put their trust in God. The map leads the men to the mountain, and they have faith that God will protect them and their search. Secular fans of the TV series Vikings as well as The Lord of the Rings trilogy will enjoy seeing the similarities in this comic.

            This comic was a delight to read. The inspirations felt organic. In fact, telling the readers what the history was made me, as a reader, want to learn more. Being of a traditional comic size, twenty-five pages, there is not much room for character development. My hope is that the authors will give the readers more information about these interesting characters as the series continues.

Get Catholic Books & eBooks for as little as $1 to FREE

Unlikely Witnesses by Leslea Wahl

When four boys glimpse a crime in their Colorado town they end up in an interrogation cell of the FBI.

Saint Michael: Above the 38th Parallel by Shanti Guy

The true story of St. Michael, the original punch-communism-in-the-face superhero

Desperate Forest: The Forest Tales Series, Book 1 By Cece Louise

This RomCom fantasy adventure explores a princess discovering the realities of life outside of her kingdom and what true love is really made of.

Why Reading Fiction Made Me a Better Catholic

How reading fiction became a crucial step in my conversion to the Catholic Church.

A Fisher of Women: The Tale of the Forgotten Healer of Galilee by Catherine Magia

Before she and husband were Saints, Peter and his wife struggled just to heal themselves

Boxers and Saints by Gene Luen Yang

This two part graphic novel tells its story from 2 sides China’s bloody civil war: A Boxer Rebel & a “traitor” Christian-Convert.

Through the Ashes by Jacqueline Brown

Fans of The 100 and Runaway’s and The Gifted will find this YA story riveting.

Cinder Allia by Karen Ullo

A political fantasy epic bildungsroman where Allia’s feminine heart becomes as powerful a force has her sword.

Please Don’t Feed the Dinosaurs by Corinna Turner

A series of dino adventures that has been doing better what the mainstream Jurassic Park series only recently attempted.

Saint Magnus: The Last Viking by Susan Peek

A young Viking Prince evades a warlord while finding his own harrowing path to sainthood.

2021 Summer Reading List for Preteens

Six series that are a must-have for your Preteen’s library ages 8-13

Gifts Visible and Invisible

If you are looking for a cozy read to get into the Christmas cheer, this collection has it all.

Murder in the Vatican by Ann Margaret Lewis

Sherlock Holmes teams up with Pope Leo XXIII to solve crimes in the Holy City.

Shadowmancer by G.P. Taylor

A dark fantasy along the lines of Revelation itself.

The Wish Thief by C.D. Verhoff

Glory steals an unusual gem to save her family but winds up threatening an entire world.

The Grace Crasher by Mara Faro

The Grace Crasher is the ecumenical romantic dramedy that everyone who has ever had family members in split churches needs to read.

Roland West Loner by Theresa Linden

When his evil brothers lock Roland up in a dungeon he finds a locked box hiding a mysterious treasure.

Breach! by Corinna Turner

Isaiah’s got a T-rex size problem, but this time, it’s not a dinosaur.

For Eden’s Sake by T.M. Gaouette

Life is precious whether it’s planned or not.

In Pieces by Rhonda Ortiz

Is a marriage without love the only way to save Molly Chase’s reputation?