The Boy Who Knew (Friends in High Places: Carlo Acutis) by Corinna Turner

by | Apr 1, 2022 | General Fiction, Middle Grade Books, Young Adult

Genre

fiction, high school fiction

Audience

Middle Grade

Author’s Worldview

Catholic

Year Published

2020

Themes

illness, healing, saints, prayer, faith, struggle, Blessed Carlo Acutis, family drama

Reviewed by

Dr. Lisa Theus

What would you do if you were given a possible death sentence? It’s something that fifteen –year-old Daniel never considered until his doctor gave him the news: he has leukemia. In 9 days, he will get the results from more complete tests. Nine days to wrestle with this terrible news! Or, nine days to find hope in a hopeless situation? With the help of his parish priest, Daniel learns of the about-to-be-Blessed Carlo Acutis—the Italian teenager who died of leukemia and became a model of heroic suffering. And so, an unlikely friendship is formed between a British high schooler and an Italian boy who passed away more than ten years before.

In this first volume of a short-fiction series aimed at making saints approachable, Corinna Turner does an excellent job of imbuing the heartbreaking tale of possible terminal illness with hope. Daniel and his parents each react differently. His father becomes angry at God. His mother wants to believe that God will heal Daniel. Daniel himself is simply stunned. The differing reactions help the reader approach the issue with a lens of faith that accepts harsh realities. The hope comes from something deeper than this life, a belief in an eternal reality, as Daniel’s family learns. We are not given Daniel’s exact prognosis at the end of the book, reminding us that ultimately it matters more how we live, not when or how we die. I believe that’s a lesson that Blessed Acutis would support.

This short novella (about 66 pages in large font) is extremely readable in every sense: interesting, engaging, relatable, quick-paced. I doubt readers will struggle with any of the British slang in the text. Told from Daniel’s perspective, the story appeals to younger readers struggling with their own difficult questions. They may not have leukemia, but all teens have big questions about God, their futures, and the problem of evil (why do bad things happen to good, innocent people?).

Perhaps my favorite features, however, were the novena to Bl. Acutis, discussion questions, and a short essay about the nature of saints. These items show how the faith is living and effective. A relationship with a saint isn’t something impossible. We can read the same novena as Daniel and nurture our own relationship with Bl. Acutis. I hope more fiction like this can find its way into youth groups, schools, and faith formation classes.

Catholic adults are sure to find the book easy to read yet still engaging. It may prove more difficult for non-Catholic readers, given the purpose of the book to provide a biography of Bl. Acutis. It is a strong argument for the important role of the saints in our lives today. If you don’t have an open mind about that spiritual relationship, it will be hard to take the book seriously. But it is a compelling story for readers who want a better understanding of the saints or Bl. Acutis himself. I can’t recommend this book enough, and you’ll probably be hooked into reading the rest of the series.

Get Catholic Books & eBooks for as little as $1 to FREE

Good to the Last Drop by Declan Finn

Marco thought his problems were over when he took on the vampire council, until he gets bit by a werewolf. Will this ruin things with his vampire girlfriend?

The Wish Thief by C.D. Verhoff

Glory steals an unusual gem to save her family but winds up threatening an entire world.

2021 Summer Reading List for Preteens

Six series that are a must-have for your Preteen’s library ages 8-13

McCracken and the Lost Oasis by Mark Adderley

A swashbuckling adventure into Catholic history and archeology.

Lying Awake by Mark Salzman

A cloistered nun confronts her faith when she realizes that the private revelations she has been given might be the product of epilepsy.

Revelation by Flannery O’Connor

Flannery O’Connor takes us into the mental experience of one of those people Jesus condemned.

Champion of Valdeor by Sandralena Hanley

Fed up with modern 1st person, present tense narratives bursting with ‘hip’ characters? Look no further!

Please Don’t Feed the Dinosaurs by Corinna Turner

A series of dino adventures that has been doing better what the mainstream Jurassic Park series only recently attempted.

Someday by Corinna Turner

Ordinary schoolgirls face a terrible fate: abuse, forced marriages, and even death at the hands of Islamic extremists.

Shadow of the Bear by Regina Doman

An intriguing story that will enchant with a sweet romance and take you on a thrill ride through the Gothic version of modern-day New York City.

Through the Ashes by Jacqueline Brown

Fans of The 100 and Runaway’s and The Gifted will find this YA story riveting.

Zeal & Zest: Where to Begin with Hillaire Belloc

Belloc was known as a Catholic polemicist with a vicious talent for skewering his opponents. Anyone struggling to persevere as a Christian in the fields of journalism or media should read him. His children’s books have an acerbic humor that will appeal to bored veterans of political correctness, especially teens.

Life Changing Love by Theresa Linden

What do when your heart gets broken and your best friend gets an unplanned pregnancy?

My Son, The Father by Jim Moore

The story of a young priest through the eyes of his father and friends.

A Life Decision by Laurie M. Lamb

When Joe and Peyton find out that their unborn baby may have Down Syndrome, they are faced with a devastating decision.

The Lost Vessel by Mark Adderley

McCracken joins a treasure hunt for Captain Nemo’s lost ship in this exciting adventure that adds another chapter to Jules Verne’s greatest creation.

If Wishes Were Dragons By Karina Fabian

What happens when LARPing becomes a lot more real than a group of D&D players can handle?

Will Wilder and the Relic of Perilous Falls

Follow Will Wilder as he discovers a hidden world, fights demons and rescues a hidden treasure!

The Phantom Phoenix

A humble phoenix rises from the ashes to clean up corrupt, 1920s Chicago in this thrilling superhero comic

The Lion’s Heart by Dena Hunt

A deep, honest story of emotional struggle, temptation, and sacrifice.