Sister Aloysius Comes to Mercyville By Linda Etchison, Illustrated by Denise Plumlee-Tadlock

by | Jul 15, 2021 | Children's Books

Genre

Children’s Literature

Audience

Ages 3- 9 Years / Kindergarten

Author’s Worldview

Catholic

Year Published

2018

Themes

daily offering, religious vocations, offering of suffering, saints, popes, patron saints, St. Peter

 

Reviewed by

A.R.K. Watson

These thirty-six pages illustrated with hand-painted artwork (a growing rarity in these days of computer art programs) will captivate young readers and introduce them to fundamental concepts of Catholic life. When the books arrived at my house, my one year old immediately demanded to see them and spent a full ten minutes turning the pages and pointing at things in the pictures (a whole ten minutes for my one-year-old is like an hour!).

A young sister arrives in the ideal town of Mercyville to teach in the local Catholic school. As she makes her way to the church, she reflects on offering up small sufferings to comfort Jesus on the cross, meets a young boy named Pio and tells him about St. Aloysius, Patron saint of young Catholic boys and girls. The book ends with the young Pio offering to carry Sister Aloysius’s luggage to the church for her. Though the Sister Aloysius books are written so you can read them in any order, if you read this one first, followed by “Arrives at Our Lady of Sorrows”, then “Gets Ready for the First Day of School” and then “Says Pray, Pray, Pray,” they form one continuous narrative.

As a convert to Catholicism, I can see how helpful these books will be to my children. Because I converted as an adult, I am more familiar with how to discuss and demonstrate the faith to other adults, but how to convey the faith to a child’s mind is something I and many Catholics, cradle and convert alike, lack the tools for. Sister Aloysius Comes to Mercyville provides a natural way for me to tell my children about offering up pains to Christ and about young saints who struggle with the sorts of sins relatable to young children. In this particular case, St. Aloysius’s story is told in a way that highlights his struggle with learning and using curse words.

Sister Aloysius also talks about the custom of receiving new names when embarking on a life newly dedicated to God; Abram to Abraham, Saul to Paul, and Simon to Peter. This concept—one that I did not fully grasp until well into adulthood despite reading the Bible cover to cover, will help young boys and girls understand the importance of choosing a Patron Saint when they are confirmed.

The back of the book also includes a page that lists the scripture passages and excerpts of the Catechism that are mentioned, as well as the Morning Offering prayer, and a prayer to Jesus’s Sacred Heart. Each Sister Aloysius book contains a similar back page with different prayers so that young readers can learn a host of the church’s prayers as they read through the series. There is also a note encouraging parents to pray the prayers with their children and discuss the scripture and catechism passages with their older children.

The author also has free activity sheets she will send to any parent who requests them. The activity sheets reinforce themes in the stories and provide thought provoking activities and vocabulary reinforcement for terms which might be new to them. They include a variety of levels of activities including fill in the blanks, matching, coloring, writing, drawing, crosswords, word searches, sentence scrambles, and others.

Parents can contact the author to get free activity sheets through this address: linda@sisteraloysius.com.

The text is a little long to make for an easy bedtime story, but as a book for a beginning reader it is excellent. My only complaint is that, other than the young boy Pio who might be Hispanic, all other the characters in the story are white. The Catholic church has one of the most diverse memberships of all religions in the world, and some families might feel like this story doesn’t apply to them because they don’t look like any of the characters. Aside from this oversight it will still be a great addition to any young Catholic child’s library.

Best of 2020

Yes some good things DID happen this year. These are our best book finds of 2020.

Feel-Good Books For Pandemic Summer

Book Therapy to chase the blues away

The Rose and the Snake by Mark Restaino, Illustrated by J.P. Alcemendas

This thought-provoking children’s tale is tailor made to improve reading comprehension and teach a child where real self-worth comes from.

Saving the Statue of Liberty By Andrea Jo Rodgers

Can John save the Statue of Liberty and keep from getting kicked off the team and out of the Academy?

Jennifer the Damned By Karen Ullo

A story of a teenage vampire without the glamorous tempting allure, trying to really live in the real world.

Books for Lent

Deepen your Lenten reflection with these stories of repentance and forgiveness

Defend the Tabernacle by Deacon Patrick Augustin Jones

Catherine and Bernard get whisked away to do battle on the Soulscape, where the true nature of things is revealed.

Freeing Tanner Rose by T.M. Gaouette

Hollywood Starlet meets Kung Fu Country boy with a God obsession.

YA Trilogy Audiobook Giveaway

Enter HERE for your chance three free audiobooks from Jacqueline Brown's award-winning Young Adult Series. On Tuesday November 12th three lucky people will win this series. Three people will get all three audiobooks in Jacqueline Brown's award winning Young Adult...

The Academy Saga: Book 1 By C.J. Daly  

A thrilling, yet clean, high school romance.

Why Reading Fiction Makes for Better Catholics

How reading fiction became a crucial step in my conversion to the Catholic Church.

Zeal & Zest: Where to Begin with Hillaire Belloc

Belloc was known as a Catholic polemicist with a vicious talent for skewering his opponents. Anyone struggling to persevere as a Christian in the fields of journalism or media should read him. His children’s books have an acerbic humor that will appeal to bored veterans of political correctness, especially teens.

A World Such As Heaven Intended

Amara didn’t intend to fall in love with a Union soldier. Is love even possible in her war-torn world?

Sydney and Calvin Have a Baby by Adrienne Thorn

Sydney writes romances but living her own romance will require more courage than anything yet required of her.

The River of Life by Diana González Tabbaa

The death of little Anthony’s father shakes his faith until a heaven-sent friend helps him find his way back to God.

For Eden’s Sake by T.M. Gaouette

Life is precious whether it’s planned or not.

Will Wilder and the Relic of Perilous Falls

Follow Will Wilder as he discovers a hidden world, fights demons and rescues a hidden treasure!

Live and Let Bite Review by Declan Finn

The battle with the demons of San Francisco left Marco broken and now Amanda isn’t answering his messages.

The Light by Jacqueline Brown

Even as the world & nation she knew winks out of existence, Bria discovers family secrets that leave her questioning everything.

Through the Ashes by Jacqueline Brown

Fans of The 100 and Runaway’s and The Gifted will find this YA story riveting.

Get Catholic Books & eBooks for as little as $1 to FREE