Sister Aloysius Comes to Mercyville By Linda Etchison, Illustrated by Denise Plumlee-Tadlock

by | Jul 15, 2021 | Children's Books

Genre

Children’s Literature

Audience

Ages 3- 9 Years / Kindergarten

Author’s Worldview

Catholic

Year Published

2018

Themes

daily offering, religious vocations, offering of suffering, saints, popes, patron saints, St. Peter

 

Reviewed by

A.R.K. Watson

These thirty-six pages illustrated with hand-painted artwork (a growing rarity in these days of computer art programs) will captivate young readers and introduce them to fundamental concepts of Catholic life. When the books arrived at my house, my one year old immediately demanded to see them and spent a full ten minutes turning the pages and pointing at things in the pictures (a whole ten minutes for my one-year-old is like an hour!).

A young sister arrives in the ideal town of Mercyville to teach in the local Catholic school. As she makes her way to the church, she reflects on offering up small sufferings to comfort Jesus on the cross, meets a young boy named Pio and tells him about St. Aloysius, Patron saint of young Catholic boys and girls. The book ends with the young Pio offering to carry Sister Aloysius’s luggage to the church for her. Though the Sister Aloysius books are written so you can read them in any order, if you read this one first, followed by “Arrives at Our Lady of Sorrows”, then “Gets Ready for the First Day of School” and then “Says Pray, Pray, Pray,” they form one continuous narrative.

As a convert to Catholicism, I can see how helpful these books will be to my children. Because I converted as an adult, I am more familiar with how to discuss and demonstrate the faith to other adults, but how to convey the faith to a child’s mind is something I and many Catholics, cradle and convert alike, lack the tools for. Sister Aloysius Comes to Mercyville provides a natural way for me to tell my children about offering up pains to Christ and about young saints who struggle with the sorts of sins relatable to young children. In this particular case, St. Aloysius’s story is told in a way that highlights his struggle with learning and using curse words.

Sister Aloysius also talks about the custom of receiving new names when embarking on a life newly dedicated to God; Abram to Abraham, Saul to Paul, and Simon to Peter. This concept—one that I did not fully grasp until well into adulthood despite reading the Bible cover to cover, will help young boys and girls understand the importance of choosing a Patron Saint when they are confirmed.

The back of the book also includes a page that lists the scripture passages and excerpts of the Catechism that are mentioned, as well as the Morning Offering prayer, and a prayer to Jesus’s Sacred Heart. Each Sister Aloysius book contains a similar back page with different prayers so that young readers can learn a host of the church’s prayers as they read through the series. There is also a note encouraging parents to pray the prayers with their children and discuss the scripture and catechism passages with their older children.

The author also has free activity sheets she will send to any parent who requests them. The activity sheets reinforce themes in the stories and provide thought provoking activities and vocabulary reinforcement for terms which might be new to them. They include a variety of levels of activities including fill in the blanks, matching, coloring, writing, drawing, crosswords, word searches, sentence scrambles, and others.

Parents can contact the author to get free activity sheets through this address: linda@sisteraloysius.com.

The text is a little long to make for an easy bedtime story, but as a book for a beginning reader it is excellent. My only complaint is that, other than the young boy Pio who might be Hispanic, all other the characters in the story are white. The Catholic church has one of the most diverse memberships of all religions in the world, and some families might feel like this story doesn’t apply to them because they don’t look like any of the characters. Aside from this oversight it will still be a great addition to any young Catholic child’s library.

Secrets Visible and Invisible, An Anthology 

Tales of courage, compassion and virtue in compelling and naturally engaging Y.A. short stories.

Cinderella by Charles Perrault

The true story of the Catholic saint who inspired the myth of Cinderella

Sisters of the Last Straw Book 1, 2 & 3: by Karen Kelly Boyce

Exploding kitchens, runaway goats, and ghosts in the chapel. Life in the Little Sisters of the Last Straw is never boring.

Books for Lent

Deepen your Lenten reflection with these stories of repentance and forgiveness

Cinder Allia by Karen Ullo

A political fantasy epic bildungsroman where Allia’s feminine heart becomes as powerful a force has her sword.

Demons are Forever by Declan Finn

Marco flees from his fears of hurting Amanda by taking a job to train Vampire Hunters in San Francisco. Should be a quiet job right?

Broken and Blessed: An Invitation to My Generation By Fr. Josh Johnson

Fr. Josh addresses some of the common misconceptions people have about God and what getting to actually know him actually means.

The Academy Saga: Book 1 By C.J. Daly  

A thrilling, yet clean, high school romance.

God Made the Moonlight by Erin Broestl, Illustrated by Jean Schoonover-Egolf

A beautifully illustrated bedtime story that helps your child see the beauty of nature as God’s personal love letter to humanity

The City and The Dungeon by Matthew P. Schmidt

Who knew fighting monsters in a D&D dungeon could convince him that not everything can be attributed to a chance roll of the dice?

Feel-Good Books For Pandemic Summer

Book Therapy to chase the blues away

YA Trilogy Audiobook Giveaway

Enter HERE for your chance three free audiobooks from Jacqueline Brown's award-winning Young Adult Series. On Tuesday November 12th three lucky people will win this series. Three people will get all three audiobooks in Jacqueline Brown's award winning Young Adult...

Through the Ashes by Jacqueline Brown

Fans of The 100 and Runaway’s and The Gifted will find this YA story riveting.

We Are Hiring! – Historical Fiction, Horror, Fantasy & Nonfiction Editors

Want a job reading books and getting other people to read them? Join our team and make your mark on today’s Catholic literary revival.

Boxers and Saints by Gene Luen Yang

This two part graphic novel tells its story from 2 sides China’s bloody civil war: A Boxer Rebel & a “traitor” Christian-Convert.

The Fruit Tree by Mark Restaino, Illustrations by J.P. Alcomendas

This children’s fable will teach the whole family Biblical literacy and the Christian symbolic language.

Honor at Stake by Declan Finn

If you’re looking for a vampire-romance with a truly unique twist look no further.

Julia’s Gifts by Ellen Gable

A story of love and God’s providence in times of war.

Jennifer the Damned By Karen Ullo

A story of a teenage vampire without the glamorous tempting allure, trying to really live in the real world.

Beneath Wandering Stars by Ashlee Cowles

A young girl goes pilgrimage on the Camino de Santiago on behalf of her brother and finds her place in the world.

Get Catholic Books & eBooks for as little as $1 to FREE