Sister Aloysius Arrives at Our Lady of Sorrows By Linda Etchison, Illustrated by Denise Plumlee-Tadlock

by | Aug 15, 2021 | Children's Books

Genre

Children’s Literature

Audience

Ages 3- 9 Years / Kindergarten

Author’s Worldview

Catholic

Year Published

2019

Themes

Nuns, Sisters, The Seven Sorrows of Mary, Mary, Prayer, Suffering, Offering it Up, Grace, passion of Christ, crucifixion

 

 

Reviewed by

A.R.K. Watson

Sister Aloysius has just arrived in Mercyville and is on her way to Our Lady of Sorrows Church with the young boy Pio. Along the way, Sister Aloysius explains the seven sorrows of Mary, what they mean and how to pray through them. Pio listens and compares how Mary felt to how his mother would feel if people were mean to him. Illustrator Plumlee-Tadlock gives us some wonderful paintings of each sorrow and the symbol of the sorrowful heart of Mary. At the back of the book are instructions for how to pray the Seven sorrows, along with a list of the seven graces promised to those who pray them. Related scripture passages and Catechism references are listed as well, so parents can read them to their children and turn a short children’s book into a week-long theology lesson. The only weakness of this book is that the lack of diversity in the illustrations might make this book alienating for non-White Catholic children. Aside from this oversight it will still be a great addition to any young Catholic child’s library.

 

The Seven Sorrows of Mary is a short prayer in which you meditate on seven sorrowful instances in Mary’s life and pray a “Hail Mary” after each one. If you are looking for a way to involve your children in prayer, this is a short and powerfully instructive resource. In fact, the author got her inspiration for this from her own father, who led her family in The Seven Sorrows every day until his death. It is clear that Etchison’s father is the inspiration behind her main character’s father. I personally found the paintings of the old man praying to Mary in his last days to be the most moving. As a convert to Catholicism, I can see how helpful these books will be to my children.

 

Because I converted as an adult, I am more familiar with how to discuss and demonstrate the faith to other adults, but how to convey the faith to a child’s mind is something I and many Catholics, cradle and convert alike, lack the tools for. This book gives parents the tools to guild their children in thinking actively about what Mary went through and how she is there for us. The book is also a hit with my one year old. When the books arrived he immediately demanded to see them and spent a full ten minutes turning the pages and pointing at things in the pictures (a whole ten minutes for my one-year-old is like an hour!). Whenever this happens I must give the credit to the artist.

 

Another theme of this book is the love between parents and children. Sister Aloysius lovingly remembers her father’s life of prayer. The Seven Sorrows of Mary are a meditation on Mary’s love for Christ, and the little boy Pio uses the prayer to meditate on his own mother’s love and concern for him. This book is great for children, but it also makes for a wonderful Father’s Day or Mother’s Day gift for parents of young children.

 

The text in this book is short, so although the series is categorized as appropriate for three year-olds and up, this volume could work as a bedtime story for babies younger than that. The large font and sentence structure also make this a good book for beginning readers.

 

The author also has free activity sheets she will send to any parent who requests them. The activity sheets reinforce themes in the stories and provide thought provoking activities and vocabulary reinforcement for terms which might be new to them. They include a variety of levels of activities including fill in the blanks, matching, coloring, writing, drawing, crosswords, word searches, sentence scrambles, and others.

 

Parents can contact the author to get free activity sheets through this address: linda@sisteraloysius.com.

 

Secrets Visible and Invisible, An Anthology 

Tales of courage, compassion and virtue in compelling and naturally engaging Y.A. short stories.

Playing by Heart by Carmela Martino

In this historical drama, Emilia longs for a love as beautiful as her sonata, but the ambitions of her father put her and her sister in great danger.

Honor at Stake by Declan Finn

If you’re looking for a vampire-romance with a truly unique twist look no further.

YA Trilogy Audiobook Giveaway

Enter HERE for your chance three free audiobooks from Jacqueline Brown's award-winning Young Adult Series. On Tuesday November 12th three lucky people will win this series. Three people will get all three audiobooks in Jacqueline Brown's award winning Young Adult...

God Made the Moonlight by Erin Broestl, Illustrated by Jean Schoonover-Egolf

A beautifully illustrated bedtime story that helps your child see the beauty of nature as God’s personal love letter to humanity

Cinder Allia by Karen Ullo

A political fantasy epic bildungsroman where Allia’s feminine heart becomes as powerful a force has her sword.

Gifts Visible and Invisible

If you are looking for a cozy read to get into the Christmas cheer, this collection has it all.

We Are Hiring! – Historical Fiction, Horror, Fantasy & Nonfiction Editors

Want a job reading books and getting other people to read them? Join our team and make your mark on today’s Catholic literary revival.

Beneath Wandering Stars by Ashlee Cowles

A young girl goes pilgrimage on the Camino de Santiago on behalf of her brother and finds her place in the world.

Will You Come to Mass by Susan Joy Bellavance, Illustrations by Sara Tang

This book helps your kids get into the right mindset for Mass.

Good to the Last Drop by Declan Finn

Marco thought his problems were over when he took on the vampire council, until he gets bit by a werewolf. Will this ruin things with his vampire girlfriend?

Jesus Do You Want to Be My Friend? by Mark Restaino, Illustrations by J.P. Alcomendas

This delightful picture book lets young readers imagine the daily life of the Christ Child while also teaching simple prayers.

Freeing Tanner Rose by T.M. Gaouette

Hollywood Starlet meets Kung Fu Country boy with a God obsession.

Through the Ashes by Jacqueline Brown

Fans of The 100 and Runaway’s and The Gifted will find this YA story riveting.

I am Margaret by Corinna Turner

A dystopian nightmare that asks what you really believe and how far will you go to defend it.

Life Changing Love by Theresa Linden

What do when your heart gets broken and your best friend gets an unplanned pregnancy?

From the Shadows by Jacqueline Brown

In a broken world, Bria tries to unite a family even as she struggles to keep hope alive.

Earthquake Weather by Kevin Rush

The mist that settles over San Francisco hides the ugly parts of her world. Can Kristine find the courage to see with unclouded eyes?

Sydney and Calvin Have a Baby by Adrienne Thorn

Sydney writes romances but living her own romance will require more courage than anything yet required of her.

Someday by Corinna Turner

Ordinary schoolgirls face a terrible fate: abuse, forced marriages, and even death at the hands of Islamic extremists.

Get Catholic Books & eBooks for as little as $1 to FREE